Overview

The Piggyback Promotion tool allows business owners to easily create and customize automated PiggyBack discounts and notifications to their clients and leads. This smart promotional tool makes it easy to offer a discount to qualified clients that "Piggyback" onto an existing order by placing their own order for the same store, delivery time, and delivery zip code.

Piggyback Promotions offer 2 big benefits:

  • Work Smarter: Combining orders from the same store and delivering to homes in the same area allows you to earn significantly more per hour.

  • Remind your clients (and leads) about your service: Even if they don't place a qualifying oder, these notifications remind them that you are active in their community and often times result in orders coming in for other stores or time slots.

How is the PiggyBack offer configured?

You are in control of how your specific PiggyBack offer is configured. You use the PiggyBack Configuration Tool to set up your offer. The tool allows your to specify the following parameters:

  • Promotion Time: You choose to promote an offer for orders placed for the same day & time as the original order OR for all-day on the same day as the original order.

  • Promotion Area: You choose to promote an offer within the same zip code as the original order OR for the same zip code and adjacent zip codes within your delivery area.

  • Discount Amount: You choose the discount offered

  • Stores: You choose all stores that you would like included in the PiggyBack offer. The offer will only be sent when orders are placed at these store AND will only be valid when PiggyBack orders are placed at the same store.

What triggers a PiggyBack offer?

Every time an order is placed for a store that you have configured for Piggyback Promotions, a Piggyback offer is automatically sent to all of your connections (clients and leads) that meet all of these following requirements:

  • Live in the same or adjacent zip code (depending on how you configure your offer) as the delivery address for the order that was just placed

  • No open orders. Last completed order was at least 3 days ago.

  • 1 Piggyback offer per day. If one was already sent, then no additional offers will be sent that day.

  • Original order is scheduled for next day or later.

How is a Client Notified of a Piggyback Offer?

Clients are notified by an Dumpling Grocery app notification and message and email. The following are examples of what a typical message looks like.

In App Message and Notification:

Email:

Frequently Asked Questions

(Q) There are certain stores I'd like to offer Piggyback promotions for, and others that I'd like not to. Can I select which stores are eligible for Piggyback orders?

(A) Yes, you can specify which stores are eligible to trigger a Piggyback Promotion for in the configuration tool.

(Q) How much is the Piggyback discount and who pays for it?

(A) You specify how much discount that you want to offer your clients for a Piggyback promotion in the configuration tool. The discount is paid for by the business owner, and removed from earnings before they are deposited in your bank account.

💥 LIMITED OFFER: To help people try the new Piggyback Promotions out, and ultimately see how beneficial they can be to increase orders and earnings per hour - Dumpling will match what Business Owners pay (up to $5.00) for any Piggyback eligible orders through the end of February.

Examples for the Offer:

If you select $5 total, you will pay $2.50 and Dumpling will pay $2.50

If you select $10 total, you will pay $5, and Dumpling will pay $5

If you select $15 total, you will pay $10 and Dumpling will pay $5

(Q) How many Piggyback orders can be accepted for a single time slot?

(A) Piggyback orders are dependent on your availability for the given time slot. If all available openings are booked for the given time slot, your clients will not be able to place an order.

(Q) How do I turn Piggyback Promotions off?
(A) Piggyback Promotions are off by default, and you opt-in by configuring them with the Piggy Back Configuration tool. If you've configured them with the tool, and want to turn them off, simply deselect all of the stores in the configuration tool and hit save.

Did this answer your question?